The jacket potato challenge

March 13, 2011 at 3:44 pm | Posted in musings, savoury | 1 Comment
Tags:

Sometimes I agree to do things that are probably foolish and only after I have agreed to help out do I realise the enormity of the challenge…. This week’s slightly ridiculous challenge was agreeing to produce 50 jacket potatoes for the church lunch!

Challenge 1: buying 50 jacket potatoes…. I don’t drive to the supermarket – it’s a 15 minute walk so it feels unnecessary to use the car. So I had to somehow buy 50 potatoes – which worked out as 5 bags, each weighing 2.5kg – and get them home. So to make this a little more manageable I bought them in 2 lots (and used the self-service tills at Sainsburys so that I didn’t feel the need to explain to a cashier why I was buying lots of potatoes and nothing else!)

Challenge 2: cooking potatoes…. I was slightly concerned whether they would all fit in the oven – but they did – over 2 shelves. I had to slightly guess the cooking time/temperature –  as more potatoes would obviously take longer than just a couple because the oven was so full. So I decided that it would be much better to have very cooked potatoes than undercooked – so I put them in for 2 and 1/2 hours at about 200c (with instructions to the housemate to check on them after 2 hours to check if they were cooked and change the temperature if it was all going wrong).

Challenge 3: how to get to them to church and keep them warm for a while. Happily the potatoes did cook perfectly well, so they just needed to be transported back to church.   This one actually was reasonably easy – I own two huge roasting tins – so I piled all the potatoes in them and covered them in foil and the residual heat kept them all warm until needed.

Once the crowds descended the potatoes quickly disappeared…. so all in all a job well done (And I am very grateful that I have a clever catalytic liner for the oven so hopefully that will deal with the mess at the bottom of the oven!)

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good effort! You must have a good oven…I think mine would have had a nervous breakdown 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

