Recipe 58: Chocolate cheesecake

March 3, 2011 at 9:28 pm | Posted in puddings | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

While the lamb was a good opening bid, I wanted pudding to be a serious treat… so after review of the recipe to-do list… the chocolate cheesecake from Feast’s Chocolate Hall of Fame stood out – for being very indulgent and for needing to be made the day before. (Preparing ahead hugely increases my enjoyment of having a crowd over)

Making it: A biscuit base (digestives with cocoa powder) topped with the most amazing mixture – melted chocolate, cream cheese, sour cream, eggs, yolks, sugar, more cocoa and a little custard powder. The cheesecake was cooked in a water bath for just under an hour until the top was set. Then before serving I made a chocolate sauce (chocolate, cream and golden syrup) half of which I drizzled over the top of the cheesecake.

Eating it: I am not sure I have sufficient vocabulary to describe how amazing this was – the sour cream cut through the extreme richness – leading to something that was rich, yet light… and it was insanely chocolately. It was great with the rest of the chocolate sauce – and with some double cream. (By the way – there was a slice leftover which tasted delicious on Monday)

Next time: Something happened when I was making it that meant that the chocolate didn’t amalgamate smoothly into the mixture – so the visual appearance of the cheesecake was mottled….. this made no difference to the taste – but i think I’d better make it again to see if that happens again. (Well – that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it!)

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] and treat…. my thoughts turn to lamb (and chocolate – but more of that in the next post). So I thought I would try out the lamb shoulder from Nigella’s Kitchen – which […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

