Confessions

February 9, 2011 at 12:01 pm | Posted in musings | 2 Comments
Tags:

Sorry!  The aim to write once a week didn’t quite happen in January. Sadly that resolution went the way of so many other new years resolutions. But while I was defeated in January, its time to dust myself off, and try again… so hopefully I will get myself back into the swing of regular postings!

I need to make  a confession… I think I might have taken it all a little to far after Christmas

My desire to have a kitchen like Nigella’s has possibly gone too far…

I’ve not taken down the fairy lights around the dining area window in my kitchen…

The only defence that I can make is that the fairy lights work really well around the window – I don’t have any blinds/curtains in my kitchen as I haven’t found anything i like. And the additional lighting gives a softer feel to the room: great for dinner with some candles, or to cheer me up when I am eating alone!

What do you think? Have I gone too far into the world of twinkle-y kitsch? Have my cute jelly mould lights, and new cutlery clock warped my style sense? Have I lost any remaining claim to be in any way a responsible member of society? Or should i just relax and enjoy their sparkly goodness?

In other interiors news…. I have been greatly amused by the reviews of Heston Blumenthal’s new restaurant in London – as the light fittings are modelled on jelly moulds! Admittedly slightly larger and made from glass – but glad to see that I was ahead of that trend.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Nigella’s is a dream kitchen and I say embrace anything that makes you feel like yours is similar – all your lights sound amazing so relax into it!! Really loving your blog – great to get recipes tried and tested – chic cake one sounds fab! Great to meet you at Annie’s wedding – hope all well.

  2. Sarah, it is a truth universally acknowledged that there is no such thing as too many fairy lights.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

