Recipe 35: Lemon-y turkey pasta

December 27, 2010 at 8:23 pm | Posted in savoury | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

This is not the 35th recipe that I’ve cooked – but as I’ve not yet totalled up what I cooked in the blogging pause, this shall be number 35!

As previously mentioned, I cooked Christmas lunch, which means I have lots of left-over turkey – although I did send home one family with a box of turkey so that they didn’t miss out on the Christmas essential of turkey sandwiches! (By the way-  my favourite turkey sandwich is turkey and beetroot, and possibly some rocket leaves)

But I can’t just eat turkey sandwiches to deal with the remnants of Christmas Day, so I’ve a number of recipes that can be adapted to use up turkey. My absolute favourite is probably turkey and leek risotto – and if you add some red onion in the base, it looks quite festively red and green! But this evening it was just me for dinner – so time to adapt one of my favourite warm pasta salads!

Making it: cook pasta and when it’s cooked add a dressing of lemon juice and garlic olive oil and a scrunch of pepper – stir lots so that the warm pasta absorbs some of those flavours… then add shredded turkey and roughly chopped salad leaves (watercress, rocket and spinach is my preference) and some peas.

Eating it: YUM! The lemon and garlic combined with fresh salad leaves were a very welcome change to lots of delicious but rich food. The turkey fitted in well to the dish and didn’t feel like sad left-overs!

Next time: Inspired by Nigel Slater’s ideas for using up turkey where he added heat to lots of his dishes – I might experiment with a little pinch of dried chilli flakes the next time I make this (whether using up more turkey or with left-over Sunday lunch chicken)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

