Recipe 32: Sunshine Soup from Nigella’s Kitchen

September 11, 2010 at 6:19 pm | Posted in savoury | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

I am having a wonderful time reading through Kitchen, and there are definitely lots of yummy recipes in there. The book is beautiful, but interestingly the food being photographed is not always perfect:  some of the cakes are wonky, which is encouraging to someone who doesn’t always produce perfect looking cake! I’ve been adding to the list of the things I want to try from the book, but I have also had the opportunity today to start cooking from it! Today was “Kath and Anna day”, which is when I hang out with two of my dearest friends for good chats about the world and our situations then we  pray about it. I’ve had the privilege of sharing my life with them for the last 11 years and I hope to be travelling with them through life for many years to come. In cooking for Anna and Kath it is an opportunity to show them love and care… so I love it when I get to host – as I did today. Life has been a hard work for us all since we last met in May, so when I spotted a recipe called “Sunshine Soup” I thought this might be the way to bring some sunshine into lives that are a little bleak!

Making it: A doddle! I am discovering that soup is a fundamentally easy thing to make… this required roasting some peppers,  cooking some sweetcorn in stock (and I used vegetable stock bouillon powder for that) and then using my wonderful hand blender to whizz it all into a smooth  soup.

Eating it: Delicious! The roasted peppers gave an earthy depth to the soup and stopped from being too sweet. The texture was really good – not too loose, and while it was a smooth soup it hadn’t all amalgamated into a bland liquid. The quantities were spot on for 3 people for lunch with some bread (the recipe suggested it served 2 people as a main or 4 as a starter)

Next time: I’m going to see how well it freezes – and then I can take it to work for lunch in the cold winter months for a shot of sunshine! It might have been good with a little garnish of parsley too.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. The soup sounds lovely! Glad you all liked it 🙂

  2. […] post that says this soup “looked a bit like sick but was very tasty,” and then I found a different person’s blog post featuring pictures of this soup that look just like mine […]

  3. […] search terms generating the most visitors are about Nigella’s sunshine soup – it would seem that I am one of the few people to have written a review of this recipe. For the […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

