Recipe 20: Pesto, tomato and goats cheese tart

June 3, 2010 at 9:36 pm | Posted in baking | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

The more observant will notice that I have leaped from recipe 12 to 20…  but the kitchen rebuild stole my cooking mojo and I haven’t been able to face writing up what has gone before. But I promise I will because there are some gems in the backlog.

While the kitchen isn’t entirely finished or brilliantly clean (this week’s dust is brought to you by the wall tiles) I thought could just about do an assembly job for a new recipe and try out the new oven as well in honour of Caroline coming for supper. So I immediately thought of a pesto and goats cheese tart from the Vicar’s Wife’s cookbook – it’s a gloriously sunny day in London and so that is the kind of food that works on a sunny day!

Making it: Obviously I bought some ready-made ready rolled puff pastry, not just because the kitchen is a work in progress – I think puff pastry is not a skill I need in life. I smeared pesto (out of a jar) on the base and topped it with red onion, halved cherry tomatoes and some goats cheese. The tart was then whacked in the oven for about 30 minutes.

Eating it: Yum. Very pleasing. It’s the kind of thing that I love ordering for lunch but never get round to making myself. It was even better  for being accompanied  by some salad leaves grown by my friend Lucie.

Next time: my new oven is speedy and hot – after the pathetic oven I inherited here – I need to adjust to something that has an effective fan – so time to start reducing temperatures from the stated and checking earlier! In terms of the tart – now I have realised they really are that easy to make I think i will be experimenting with new and different flavourings.

p.s. pudding was an accidental experiment – unbeknownst to me the fridge freezer had turned itself off  – so instead of vanilla ice-cream and crushed smarties, we had vanilla mousse – probably not an experiment to repeat. I have now located the newly installed trip switch!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

