Recipe 12: Silly cakes for serious people

April 10, 2010 at 6:32 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

When I am not pondering what to cook or planning my new kitchen (4 weeks until the work starts – haven’t yet bought appliances, worktop or tiles…) I have a reasonably grown-up responsible job.  We all work very hard in my team, and the last few months have been a particularly hard slog, so we decided we needed a team awayday and instead of using a boring meeting room we decided to use my flat!  I thought it would be fun to start our time together with an activity: an opportunity to do something creative. So I decided to bake some fairy cakes and then we could decorate them. I’m sure you are now wondering how fairy cakes could count as a new recipe… well, my boss is gluten intolerant and usually I make fairy cakes for the office using a very clever recipe with whisked egg white and almonds, but to do something different I thought I would try out Doves Wheat and Gluten Free self-raising flour… this promises a substitute for ordinary flour – but requires a little more liquid.  So under the new recipe definition I think it just about counts – a new ingredient and a tweak to a standard recipe.

Making it: A fairly normal sponge cake recipe, just requires more milk than usual. I also made it fairly low on dairy – so used dairy-free sunflower margarine. For the icing we just used ordinary water icing, which was divided up into a number of different colours.

Eating it: Before eating came the decorating. It was brilliant to watch my colleagues concentrate so hard on their cakes… we each had 4 cakes each to decorate and each was a work of art. The cakes themselves weren’t brilliant. Perhaps because I had made them the day before they were a touch dry and they were a little too dense.

Next time: I think I will add baking powder and maybe a touch more milk – it is brilliant to be able to do a simple fairy cake without gluten – so I will persevere in getting in right. I was also inspired by everyone else’s artistic efforts to try harder in making my cakes look beautiful.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sarah,

    I discovered this blog via Kath’s and while you mention you are leaving the deep thinking to other blogs I personal found yours speaking my language through and through. I love it. Just wanted to offer some wisdom with gluten free baking. If using gluten free flour we found it best to also use rice milk as the texture works better and that way we didn’t need to add much more baking powder or liquid. Having baked this way for 5 years am more than happy to share any other tips or wisdom you want.

    Keep posting recipes, one day I might get round to making them myself.

    Roz

  2. […] made disappointing fairy cakes using gluten-free/wheat-free flour last year, I wanted to have another attempt. So a meeting at work was the opportunity to try out […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

