Recipe 11: Sweetcorn chowder from Nigella Express

April 3, 2010 at 3:14 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

While I secretly wish I could live on cake alone, I know that it wouldn’t be good for me in any way… so it is important to find yummy savoury food to cook as well. Soup is one of my favourite lunches, so I thought that I would try out a new soup recipe for Kath and Anna as well. Sweetcorn chowder from Nigella Express seemed like a good thing to try – I love the pea and pesto soup for this book – and this soup was a similar no hassle approach.

Making it: simply take some frozen sweetcorn out of the freezer and allow to defrost. Strangely my local Sainsbury only sells “supersweet” sweetcorn – which is more sugary than a vegetable should be – but happily Waitrose obliges to provide ordinary sweetcorn (another good reason to pop in there every once in a while).Once the sweetcorn is defrosted it is whizzed up in the food processor with some semolina and a few flavourings –  creating what Nigella describes as “primrose mush”. To turn it into soup – it is simmered on the stove (obviously adding stock first!) for 10 minutes. While that was cooking I put some tortilla chips sprinkled with cheese in the oven to get all hot and crispy.

Eating it: We added some chopped red chilli once it was served. It tasted great. A very satisfying soup (for remarkably little effort) and the tortilla chips once added to the soup were delicious.

Next time: I might have to remember to get the sweetcorn out of the freezer slightly earlier – the mush was slightly too cold. I  think I would also be bolder in the amount of chilli I added to my bowl..

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. it was hot, hot, hot under those tortillas! Must remember not to scoff to quickly. But yumscious apart from that 😉


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

