Recipe 7: Lemon creams

February 28, 2010 at 3:58 pm | Posted in baking, Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: , ,

While I enjoy cooking main courses, my real love is dessert. I think that  a good pudding is the pinnacle of a good meal! I probably spend far too long on working out what would be the ultimate pudding for any given meal. The dinner party for friends options were shaped by one of the guests not eating chocolate… which is an opportunity to start thinking about all the lovely lemon-y puddings that are out there too! And as I thought – I remembered that in How to Eat, there is something which Nigella says is basically tarte au citron without the pasty – which to me sounded perfect (I’m scared of pastry…. perhaps later in the year I will start tackling that fear)

Making it: Another make ahead recipe. Nigella says that the flavours are more intense if the mixture has time to steep before cooking. So I assembled the mixture on Wednesday for the Friday night. Assembly was easy – cream, eggs, sugar and the juice and zest of lemons and mix. Then ignored in the fridge for 2 days.

Part 2 was no more difficult – I then had to distribute the mixture between some ramekins (Nigella said it served 8, but my ramekins were slightly bigger so it did 7 – not a problem as there were only 6 of us for dinner). Then the filled ramekins went in a roasting tin half filled with boiling water (a bain marie for those in the know!). It all went in the oven for about 30 minutes until they looked set. It was difficult to work out whether they were ok… I just went on trust that they had had enough time and didn’t look raw!

Yummy pots of lemon loveliness

Eating them: they were utterly delicious! I served them with shortbread (I use Jamie Oliver’s recipe). The sign of a good pudding is that the table goes silent as people dig in – and we were definitely quiet while we ate! The texture was soft and the taste tangy! 2 days later I ate the sole leftover – and that was still yummy!

Next time: As it was rich – I think I would share the mixture out between 8 ramekins. But there most definitely will be a next time!

So the evaluation of  the dinner party menu – 2 hits and a miss… I think that is a good score

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. how cute!
    check out my food blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

    • Your blog looks amazing – you are much more ambitious in your efforts and professional in your photos than me. Thank you for stopping by!

  2. Congrats on you’re puddings working out! I think dessert not working out is almost worse than the actual meal itself not working out. They look wonderful, and as I have HTE and a brother with more than a fondness towards all things lemon, you may have solved my birthday treat dilemma! Have a good day,

    -Justine
    🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

