Recipe 2: Moroccan-ish Chicken Casserole

January 13, 2010 at 10:48 am | Posted in Casseroles | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

I’m very excited that I’ve had visitors to my blog… so thank you for coming – I hope it is worth the effort.  I don’t have great ambitions for the blog – there is not a master plan of becoming the next Julie:Julia – although if someone does want to pay me lots of money to write about life and cooking I wouldn’t complain – but I think I would like Cameron Diaz or Drew Barrymore to play me in the film. Mainly I want to use this as a way to talk about food and maybe a few other things along the way. It is unlikely to be life-changing or profound – I will leave deep and meaningful to others!

So to the meat of the post – this week’s recipe…  which is a variant on Nigel Slater’s Moroccan style chicken casserole. I was inspired to make it by watching Nigel Slater’s Simple Suppers – it just looked flavoursome and relatively quick to make. On Monday Sarah was coming for supper and discussion on the next chunk of Jim Packer’s great book “Knowing God”. Deep conversation requires good food – and this looked like it would fit the bill.

It ended up being a variant on the recipe – I figure that it was ok as Nigel Slater generally encourages experimentation – mainly because I forgot to buy a lemon. So instead of thinly sliced lemon being included in the casserole I added lime juice (from a bottle) at the end. I also added some chickpeas to bulk it out.

Making it: As confessed I slightly altered the recipe – but it was incredibly easy to make. I only bought the ingredients on the way home from work, so the chicken only had about 10 minutes to marinade in the spice rub (I also couldn’t find my pot of cumin seeds so I used ready ground). Then all I had to do was sweat off an onion, brown the chicken, add liquid (I used stock instead of water to increase the flavour) and simmer for 30 minutes or so… I added the olives and chickpeas about 10 minutes before the end.

Eating it: It tasted good (I served it with couscous) – with a longer time for marinading the chicken I think there would have been a stronger flavour. I asked Sarah for her review comment – but we decided a comment wasn’t necessary – she had eaten the plate clean – which says it all!

Next time: I think there will be a next time – as this was a flavoursome meal which was ready to eat in 45 minutes after walking in the door (and for the last 35 minutes didn’t need any attention at all).  If it was marinaded in advance it would be even quicker and the flavours would be even better! I liked the effect that the lime juice gave – it cut through the slight fattiness of the juices, so I think it would keep that alteration.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Looks good. Got hungry just looking at the pic.

  2. Think I’m going to use the reciepe in the future. It was a truly lovely dish. Looking forward to finding out what you review next.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

