Errr… welcome to my blog

January 10, 2010 at 3:30 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

So this is the beginning of my blog. Its really an experiment. I’ve set myself a little challenge of trying to cook at least one new recipe a week during 2010 and as lots of research suggests that people are much better at doing things if they make a public commitment I thought would try and write about it in a blog.

I love cooking – and I love recipe books – the books even have a bookcase all to themselves in the kitchen.  But I realised over Christmas that I had got stuck in a rut and was mainly cooking the same things over and over. But I know that there are lots of great recipes out there that I have not yet become friend with, so I am hoping that by trying out at least 50 recipes over the next 12 months I will find some new reliable mates!

Close examination of the bookcase will show that I am an acolyte of the Domestic Goddess, Nigella, but I am also becoming a huge fan of the Vicar’s Wife too!

I live alone but love to take opportunities to have friends and family over and feed them well. My cooking style is homely: I don’t prink or preen food, instead cook things that are hopefully yummy – even if the presentation isn’t perfect. Baking is a source of huge pleasure, although I decorate like a 5 year old! My colleagues at work are very helpful in dealing with the overflow from the oven when a weekend baking session produces far more than is reasonable for one person to eat.

In the coming year, I guess I will be trying out new cakes, biscuits, etc, but also main courses – many of which will either be no-hassle prepare ahead stews, or quick meals that can be put together in 30 minutes after work. I hope to let you know what recipe I tried, how it was to make, what it tasted like and whether I would change anything if there was to be a next time to make it.

So here we go! The first review is ready…. so that can be post number 2…

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sounds like a lot of fun and good for you to blog about it!

  2. Great stuff Sarah. Looking froward to savouring a number of these recipes over the year at church. perks


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

