Recipe 59: Pesto pancakes

March 7, 2011 at 9:23 pm | Posted in savoury | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Just in time for Shrove Tuesday (or pancake day in common parlance)… I fancied savoury pancakes for dinner and a little bit of internet browsing suggested “green eggs and ham” from Nigella Express – which became a launching pad for a slightly more substantial supper of pesto pancakes with cheese, ham and tomatoes.

Making it: The base was a simple pancake batter to which a big dollop of pesto was added. I was excited to be trying out my new pancake pan (the old one had become redundant when I had the induction hob installed). The batter was a little too thick with the suggested 150ml of milk – so after making a couple I added some more milk. Once each pancake was made, I put some ham,  halved cherry tomatoes and a sprinkle of grated cheese on top and then rolled it up. Once made (I managed to get 6 out of the batter – which was perfect for me and Sarah) I warmed them through in the oven for 5 minutes to encourage the cheese to melt a little.

Eating it: the pesto in the pancake was a scrummy twist on the usual – and the pesto-y flavour came through in a lovely subtle, but discernible way. I love ham and cheese…. and eating it reminded me of the great meals out as a student at “Cripes Creperie” in Exeter…

Next time: This would be a great base for other savoury pancake moments… and now being in possession of a suitable pancake pan – I think there should be more pancake moments… and I think this will be very flexible for whatever is in the fridge!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 265 other followers

